Chain Mail Jewellery & Accessories by Angie Mack

The Happily Ever After of Design

I really love the classics, making a simple, traditional weave or chain without much added to it aside from a clasp is often my favourite thing to do (possibly because I often still frustrate myself by trying to make specific ideas work after it’s apparent I don’t know how to!)

The above piece – ‘Morning Star’, a collar necklace with a corset style ribbon fastening at the back – was started last year and was supposed to be a veil. I couldn’t get it to do what I wanted it to, so I abandoned it in favour of things I did know how to do.  Then, several weeks ago, I decided to try and make a conscious effort to create jewellery with a bit more of a unique personality, something that was distinctly “me”, or rather “mine”.

I recently bought some rings but was sent a different size than what I ordered, as it turned out they were perfect for Full Persian, so rather than mess about with exchanging them, I set about seeing exactly what I could do with one of my favourite chains. First thing I decided was to finally try and recreate the dragon tail lariat and incorporate some beautiful Czech glass beads I bought many months ago because they reminded me of dragon’s eyes… It didn’t work out, but while I was playing around with the chain, I ended up splitting it in half and adding a scale pendant.

Which made me realise a couple of things. My idea of what a uniquely “me” design should be was less about distinction and more about complicated, elaborate ideas no one else had thought of or done yet, but the above necklace (which I aptly named Remnants of A Dragon) is relatively classic and simple in all aspects of its design, and even if someone else has made exactly the same necklace before, I think it’s very much “me”, and hopefully distinctly so. The other thing I realised is that my creativity is at its best when I’m not trying to form jewellery from a complete idea, but instead just looking at how a piece has decided to form.

It was much the same whenever I picked up my pen to write – my stories were always significantly better if all I did was explore the characters and let the story develop naturally. If I tried to come up with a story and make my characters follow it, I was never satisfied with how it turned out.

So… I’ve being picking up some of my older, abandoned pieces and rather than trying to think of new or different ways to make them into what I originally envisioned, instead I’m looking for different forms they seem to take to naturally. Which means I still get to experience one of the things I used to love most about writing stories – being surprised by how things turn out (even if it’s a simple, classic ending)!

Everyone’s processes are different of course; I know there are lots of people out there that begin and end with very specific ideas and either know exactly how to create them, or don’t stop until the piece is exactly as they envisioned it. I’d be curious to know how many people are “see what happens” kind of creators, or “know what happens” (or both), and whether it took them any time to discover which works best.

Leave a Reply

