Chain Mail Jewellery & Accessories by Angie Mack

Seriously Spiked – Chain Mail Necklace

One idea often leads to another, and a few months ago I used the double vision chain mail weave to make a similar bracelet. Not long after, I thought it would make a good wallet chain, and when finished I took this photo…

I was looking at it the way the chain curves and the how the spikes look a bit like teeth, then decided it actually looked a little like an ‘alien’ spine, so came up with the idea for making something with spikes on both sides of the chain. In the end, it was necessary to alternate the direction of the weave to get it to work the way I wanted to, but it turned out pretty much as I had envisioned (which is rare!)

I plan to take this idea a bit further and construct something much more elaborate, just need to get enough material together. In the meantime, I’m trying to include a bit more non-silver material into my work (particularly brass and bronze), so will hopefully have something a bit different to show soon.

 

2 responses

  1. Patrick

    What kind of beads are the small silver spikes?

    January 28, 2014 at 10:58 am

    • Hi, they are just generic metal spikes (zinc alloy) that I found online, I don’t think they have a specific name or type.

      January 28, 2014 at 11:06 pm

Leave a Reply

