Chain Mail Jewellery & Accessories by Angie Mack

Chain Mail Scarf Lariat Necklace

So, my computer died a while back and I’m currently having to share a lap top until I can replace mine. You’d think less time on a computer would mean you have heaps more time to get other things done, but for some reason it hasn’t quite worked out that way, but I did get the chance to finish off this piece – a remake, pretty much, or something I attempted a year ago.

One of the first projects I wanted to try my hand at was a chain mail scarf – just a nice, long strip of European 4-in-1. The first time around I used 14 gauge bright aluminium rings, so it was bigger, chunkier and even longer (by about 20cm). It looked ok, but you certainly wouldn’t have been able to call it a piece of jewellery.

These are 21 gauge stainless steel rings with a 5mm OD, meaning the weave is a much finer mesh than the 14 gauge piece. I used around 1600 individual rings, which may or may not sound like a lot, but it’s probably about 5-10cm shorter than my ideal (ran short of rings, but decided it was ‘finished’ after adding the chain tassels).

The main goal was to create something that din’t look too much like a scarf or necklace in particular, but could more than easily be used as either, which was where the first one failed.

I know there’s nothing particularly special about a piece like this – it’s a pretty basic weave and, truth be told, didn’t exactly take many endless hours, but I’m still pretty pleased with it. Plus, about half-way through I had an idea for an E-6-1 version that will (hopefully) be a bit different.

5 responses

  1. LOVE this. Simple but a really unique idea. 🙂

    March 11, 2013 at 5:20 am

  2. going to make this! if you used that many rings and it was ‘too short’, do you figure an additional 400 rings would do it?

    July 16, 2015 at 4:51 am

    • Hi, my apologies for taking so long to respond. This may be a bit late, but just thought I’d mention that I actually remade this piece a couple of months ago (using the same rings), but made it about 10cm longer. Depending on your rings sizes (mine were 20 gauge with an OD of 5mm), I’d recommend purchasing around 2500 rings so that you can be sure you’ll have enough, as I think the final count used around 2300 on the second one I made.

      August 1, 2015 at 8:29 pm

      • i still havent made this 🙂 but i have it on my list for this winter.. is it heavy in stainless? and you made it in bright aluminum first- so shinier than stainless.. which finish/sheen/color did you like better? and did you ever try the 6 in 1 idea you mention in the blog? id love to see that if you did. I might even try this in hot pink!

        January 15, 2017 at 6:41 am

Leave a Reply

