Chain Mail Jewellery & Accessories by Angie Mack

Angelic Mechanism – Men’s Steampunk Inspired Necklace

I really love some of the steampunk  jewellery I’ve seen by some (very ) talented artists, and while I don’t quite have the skills (or components) to piece things together for a ‘real’ steampunk piece, I really wanted to try my hand and putting something together inspired by some of the more common motifs.

I also have a distinct lack of jewellery specifically for men, usually just going for chunkier materials or using square wire rings for a more masculine edge, but no genuinely original designs, so I decided to take the steampunk theme and try to create a distinctly masculine piece, and I’m fairly happy with the result.

The focal chain at the centrepiece is a mix of links – the silver gear connectors, solid faceted round silver rings, and square wire brass rings formed into mobius units, all linked with round stainless steel rings. The pendant is a simple wing stamping attached to another gear connector with plated copper wire.

The rest of the chain is just a simple 3-3 link using smaller and finer gauge stainless steel rings for a ‘rollo’ effect, which also reminds me slightly of a bike chain, so I thought it was in keeping with the theme. I would have actually preferred the two cog connectors at the side to be smaller, but beggars can’t be choosers, unfortunately.

Still, although quite often things I try to make masculine somehow inadvertently take on an obvious feminine aesthetic, and despite thinking this piece could just as easily be worn by a woman, I think I managed to achieve what I was trying to with this – and for once there’s no skulls, spikes or dragons in sight!

AM

3 responses

  1. This is awesome! Also I love the wing. Beautiful 🙂 and definitely for men and women!
    I recently made a necklace out of real watch parts for my sister. It was more delicate and I couldn’t made it as complex as I wanted but I was still pleased. I will have to post some photos soon.

    January 19, 2013 at 8:28 pm

  2. Thank you for your comments 🙂 You work is lovely – I especially like the patterned feathers.

    January 20, 2013 at 8:52 pm

Leave a Reply

