Chain Mail Jewellery & Accessories by Angie Mack

Box Weave & Captive Inverted Round Wallet Chains

I’ve been trying to expand the line of accessories I make and wallet chains was something suggested to me by someone else (which I’m thankful for as I know absolutely nothing about men’s fashion accessories and wallet chains never would have occurred to me). I can see these type of items have the potential to be quite diverse, so I’m glad to have something for men other than jewellery that I can experiment with.

The first two I made are just simple, unadorned chains – the one up top is a stainless steel box weave, which was one of the first weaves I learned but haven’t used it before as I didn’t find it particularly attractive for jewellery. It’s a rather quick and easy chain though, and I quite like it for this type of accessory.

The second one was a weave I’ve never tried before – Captive Inverted Round, in stainless steel and brass.

This weave really frustrated me. The technique is so simple, at the very least in theory, but I fumbled with it consistently and struggled to develop a fluent technique (usually, when I struggle with a new weave, after I’ve learned how to do it properly it doesn’t take long before I can construct it without making errors or fumbling with ring placement, but I found no matter what I did, the captive rings were always precariously positioned and prone to slipping out of place while I tried to put the outer rings back into place, making the weave more time consuming than it really should be – for me, anyway).

Still, as I had originally intended to have two captive rings in the cages but didn’t have enough brass rings (plus it made the chain a little stiff and I don’t like weaves to get the better of me…), I decided to make a necklace using copper rings in place of the brass.

A slightly smoother process, but those rings remain slippery little suckers! For this chain, I used 7mm OD stainless steel rings (1mm thick), and 5.6mm OD copper rings (supposedly 0.8mm thick, but I think they were actually slightly thinner).

AM

3 responses

  1. Rachel

    Is the wallet chain for sale? If so, please email me, thank you!

    November 19, 2012 at 6:24 am

    • Hi, thank you for your comment. I still have the stainless steel and copper chain, currently it has a lobster clasp attached but it would be very easy to switch that for a larger swivel clasp so it can be used as a wallet chain. It’s current length (minus attachments) is 41cm, and I wouldn’t be able to extend that, but with clasps attached it will be around 46cm-48cm, depending on which kind you’d prefer. You’re welcome to email me at mailleaddiction(at)yahoo(dot)com(dot)au if you’d like to discuss options in more detail.

      November 19, 2012 at 2:11 pm

  2. A

    Lovely. I like the double capture and the contrast very much.

    March 28, 2015 at 4:41 am

Leave a Reply

