Chain Mail Jewellery & Accessories by Angie Mack

Gold & Silver Chain Mail Cuff Bracelet

 

This is my first attempt at weaving a distinguishable pattern into chain mail, so I went with a very simple diamond shape, which works quite well as a stand-alone shape, though it became a little less recognisable as a diamond when as part of a fuller weave.

 

 

The weave is a standard European 4-in-1, made with plated copper wire rings each with a total diameter of 4mm, so it’s a fairly fine weave. The rings are slightly different gauges, though – the gold rings are 0.8mm thick and the silver are 0.7mm. Originally, I had intended to border the bracelet with silver rings (which would have made the diamond shape a bit more distinguishable), but due to the slight difference in size, they would have been a little loose and messy, so the gold rings pulled it together quite nicely in the end.

 

 

I finished it off with a 3-strand silver-tone magnetic slide clasp, but I think it would work just as well (probably better) with a gold clasp.

Overall, I’m quite pleased with the result, so will be looking to incorporate more inlays into my work in the future.

AM

2 responses

  1. Came here from creating my way to success…your work is fabulous..and I really love this cuff…you should write some tutorials as well as you are quite good at it

    May 16, 2012 at 3:44 pm

    • Thank you for visiting, and for the compliment. Tutorials are something I definitely plan on doing, hopefully quite soon. šŸ™‚

      May 16, 2012 at 6:52 pm

Leave a Reply

